Snap to it! Closing date approaches for £5,000 manufacturing photo competition

Aspiring and professional photographers have just a few weeks left to capture Britain’s vibrant manufacturing industry in a £5,000 competition organised by trade body EEF.

The EEF Manufacturing Photography Competition is free to enter and open to young, amateur and professional photographers alike. All entries must be submitted by October 7, 2018.

Prizes for winners include a share of £5,000, a day’s training course worth up to £800, an MP guided tour of the House of Commons, and a year’s membership of The Guild of Photographers. The winning photos will also be displayed in ministerial offices, at EEF premises across the country, and at the EEF Future Manufacturing Awards 2018 and EEF National Manufacturing Conference & Dinner.

The competition theme - Celebrating Everyday Manufacturing - reflects the strength and diversity of today's UK manufacturing sector and entrants are encouraged to capture British products, components or processes in creative or abstract ways.

There are four categories: Next Generation (depicting apprentices and young people in industry); Future Technology (automation, robotics, digital, and clean and sustainable technologies); Manufacturing Process (from design and R&D to production); and Manufacturing Product (finished component or product).

Each category will have one winner for each skill level:

  • Best photograph by a professional photographer
  • Best photograph by an amateur photographer
  • Best photograph by a young photographer (under 20 years old on 7th October 2018)

Photographers can make their own arrangements with manufacturing businesses or can select a host company from across the country arranged by EEF. To access EEF host companies, photographers must first contact Caroline O’Neill at EEF (

Entries will be shortlisted by a panel of photography and industry experts, with winners announced at an awards event in London in November. For more information visit

Attached are photos from the 2017 competition, taken by amateur Jakub Wasik, and professional Ian Pickering.

Related Articles